Christmas Homeware Favourites

When the clock strikes on the 1st December I make it my mission to turn my bedroom into my own little Christmas Grotto. Nothing is too much, nothing too festive- there is no such thing. The Christmas decorating world is a BIG one- it goes a lot further than tinsel and a tree- so I thought I would share some of my favourite Christmas trinkets from throughout the years today! I’ve gone broad with a couple of specifics in the photos, so hopefully it gives you some ideas for your own homes.

Christmas Bunting: Bunting is the perfect piece of decoration for any occasion- especially in December! There is such a wide variety of things you can go for, or you might want to make your own using the Christmas cards your receive. Mine is from Matalan last year, it is felt and is ht perfect size for decorating my shelf. It doesn’t always have to be huge and hung across the wall- find what works best for your space!

Christmas Movies and Books: One of the most simple ways to decorate is swapping out some of your year-round books and DVDs for your festive ones. They can make your shelves or bookcases look really lovely, and it is always handy to have them on hand throughout December. I find putting a bit of tinsel around them, a small hanging or putting a festive mug by them it makes it look extra cute- like I did last year, pictured below!

Festive Hangings: I absolutely LOVE picking up different Christmas hangings that you can put up all over your house! Throughout the years I have found some of my favourites at various Christmas markets and many independent shops. If you have hooks up for your usual hangings and photo frames it is nice to change them out which also makes things feel fresher in January. It is always really nice to wake up and read the festive joy around you- it makes your home feel completely Christmassy!

Christmas Trinkets: You know all those little bits you save up from all the Christmases of the past- get them out and savour them! All those little trinkets and treasures make your little festive collection personal and homely. I LOVE picking up different things from Christmas shops that you find on your travels through the year. The little candles, hangings and ornaments all make for the BEST Christmas homeware!

Hopefully you have enjoyed having a little festive snoop around my bedroom- aka, grotto! I think it’s the cutest little place and makes the month of December even more joyful- from the minute I shut my eyes to the second I wake up. Obviously I have lots of other bits, and all our family bits too, but I didn’t want to bore you and lots of this stuff is from a couple of years as I add to my collection year on year- so I wanted to try and keep them as relevant to you as possible.  Let me know your favourite Christmas decorations below!

Amy

Leave a comment