3 Ways to Get Through Deadline Season

For those of you not in education, you will have the privilege of looking forward to the Springtime. When the sun begins to shine again, the flowers are blossoming and summer is almost here… For us stuck at school, college or university it means DEADLINE SEASON. I’m talking essays, coursework, revision and exams. This time of the year can be really draining for many students and I thought I would share my 3 ways to try and get through this tough time.

  1. Keep things FRESH: The most boring thing about revision and writing essays is the monotony, everything feels the same. It can be unbearably DULL. So I recommend changing things up regularly, whether that be what you are studying or the way you are studying. I find that studying where I study or sometimes doing it with other people a helpful way of trying new things. Sometimes I like to go to the library or a cafe with a friend but other days I want to sit in my bed and revise with a cup of tea and silence. It just depends on how I feel and I think giving yourself a bit more freedom can make it all a bit less draining.

    Don't be so hard in yourself, you're doing your best
    Photo Credit: Greta Hollar’s Pinterest

2. Don’t Compare Yourself to Others: This is one I’ve learnt as I’ve got older but comparing your work ethic to other peoples is NEVER helpful. When you’re scrolling Instagram and other people seem like they are out all the time, or your friend brings out a colour coded revision time table- both at the different ends of the scale, but its important to just focus on your own thing. Don’t feel guilty or left out and remember that this is a temporary situation- it’s just for now. Just give it your best go, in the way that you see best for your studies and don’t focus on anyone else.

3. Plan Nice Things For Afterwards: Circle that final deadline or exam in red and get ready to do lots of lovely things from then on. Plan in a couple of days out with your family, decide on a restaurant you want to go to with your friends and save a new series of Netflix ready to go once you are done. Having all of these exciting things to look forward to really helps you when you get caught up in a slump of work.

Best of luck, you got this!

Amy

Leave a comment